Elections to fill the 128-seat parliament are held every four years in Lebanon, and usually last a month, with voters from each muhafazat, or governorate, going to the polls on successive weekends. The first elections held after the 1975-1990 civil war were in 1992. The previous election was in 1972.

The 2005 elections were the conducted under the electoral law of 2000, in which Lebanon was divided into 14 voting districts: Beirut was split into three, Mount Lebanon into four, two each for the South and the North and three for the Bekaa. The polls were held on successive Sundays from May 29 to June 19.

The March 14 coalition, grouping Saad Hariri’s Future Movement, Walid Jumblatt’s Progressive Socialist Party, Samir Geagea’s Lebanese Forces and the Qornet Shehwan Gathering, won the largest number of seats with 72.

The Hizbullah-Amal bloc was second with 35 seats and General Michel Aoun’s bloc third with 21 seats.